Jackson, Donna. (1993). Honorable discharge: Memoirs of an army dyke, pp.194–196. San Francisco, CA: CS The Christie & Stefin Company, Publishers.

 

            This “Don’t ask, Don’t tell” compromise changes nothing. It is a violation of the civil rights of all gays. What is the point of being able to serve without being asked about our sexuality, if we can’t freely speak of our lives.

       I wanted and was willing to go to war if my country asked that of me; but I didn’t want to die in a war and have to die silently in the closet. Hushed by the discrimination and ignorance of others. President Clinton’s compromise is compromising our lives.

       Face it most flamboyant queens would never want to join the military, nor would necessarily be accepted to join the military. Not everyone wants to be a solider. Many people join for different reasons . . . we don’t go in to be queer.

       For me the military was some of the best times and some of the worst times, and I wouldn’t change a thing about my past. In fact, if I had to do it all over again, I would. Only this time, I would come out louder and prouder. I, too, would never discourage anyone from joining the service, whether they were straight or gay, as that may be their only choice in life, like it was mine.

       This book of mine is something I’ve always wanted to do, and is but a closing chapter on a major part of my life. My youth, unfortunately, is still lost somewhere in the past, but my future is brightly in front of me. I look forward to this and all the challenges that it may bring. I hope that the future brings prosperity and freedom from oppression and discrimination. Let’s face it, the only joy in life comes from being yourself. No one has the right to take that away from you.